# NORTH SHOAL CREEK NEIGHBORHOOD ASSOCIATION (NSCNA) BOARD MEETING October 20, 2008

#### **OPENING**

The regularly scheduled NSCNA Board Meeting was called to order by President Jeff Russell at 6:40pm at the meeting room of the North Village Branch Library.

#### **PARTICIPANTS**

Board Members: Jerry Horn, Chris Jones, Helene Maham, Ken Moyer, Lynda Oakes, Sandy Perkins, Jeff Russell, Betsy Todd, Sherran Williams, and Roger Wines. Claudell Migl had an excused absence.

Guests: Dallas Maham and Vicki McFadden.

#### **AGENDA**

Meeting agenda topics were approved.

#### **STANDING RULES**

The following Standing Rules for this meeting were adopted.

Discussion by individuals are limited to 2 minutes.

Guests are invited to participate in discussions.

## **BYLAWS COMMITTEE**

The bylaws committee reported there are some issues and inconsistencies in the new bylaws as amended at the October 14 general meeting.

MOTION: A motion was made by Jeff Russell that the bylaws committee propose bylaws amendments for the next membership meeting to correct inconsistencies in the new bylaws. The board will review the proposed amendments at the November 17 board meeting.

Motion carried.

MOTION: A motion was made by Jeff Russell to schedule a December general meeting to address any bylaw changes.

Motion carried.

#### **ISSUES RAISED BY MEMBERS**

MOTION: A motion was made by Jeff Russell to amend the previously adopted February 18 minutes to remove the entire sentence containing "... the action proposed was a violation ..".

Motion carried 6-3

MOTION: A motion was made by Jeff Russell to ratify that four page, Fall 2007 newsletter distributed only to association members is designated the official 2007 Issue 4 Newsletter, and that it should be placed in the web archives. Motion carried 7-2

# **Nominating Committee**

A discussion was held about the nominating committee guidelines, a proposed timeline, and instructions for candidates on writing their applications of interest. Our next newsletter includes information to those interested in serving as an officer or board member.

MOTION: A motion was made by Jeff Russell to ratify the selection of the nominating committee membership by the President, consisting of: Ernestine Garcia, Jerry Horn, Walter Matthys, Betsy Todd, Kevin Weir, and Chris Jones as an alternate. The committee chair will be determined at a later date. Furthermore, to ratify any substitute selection prior to November 1 should any member be unable to serve. Motion carried

# Treasurer's Report

Treasurer Helene Maham submitted the Treasurer's Report updated through October 14.

# **Development Committee**

Betsy Todd reported the agreement related to the Village property was signed.

#### **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

The minutes of the August 18 and August 25 2008 board meeting were approved as corrected.

## **MEETING ADJOURNED AT 8:12 pm.**

Submitted by,

Sherran Williams, Director These minutes approved by Nov. 17, 2008